South America

South America inhabits the southern section of the American island. The continent is normally bounded on the northwest by the Darién watershed along the Colombia–Panama border. Some sources in its place recommend the Panama Canal. Geo Politically and geographically all of Panama – as well as the part east of the Panama Canal in the isthmus – is normally incorporated in North America alone and surrounded by the countries of Central America. Nearly all of mainland South America assemblies on the South American Plate. South America’s triangular form gives it the unswerving coastline, for its size, of any of the continents.

South America

South America

Conventionally, South America also comprises a few nearby islands. Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Trinidad, Tobago, and the central craving of Venezuela sit on the northerly South American continental shelf and are frequently measured element of the continent. Geo-politically, the island states and overseas territories of the Caribbean are generally grouped as a part or sub region of North America, since they are more distant on the Caribbean Plate, even though San Andreas and Providencia are politically part of Colombia and Aves Island is controlled by Venezuela.

Other islands that are integrated with South America are the Galápagos Islands that belong to Ecuador and Easter Island (in Oceania but belongs to Chile), Robinson Crusoe Island, Chiloé are also Chilean islands, while Tierra del Fuego is come apart flanked by that country and Argentina. In the Atlantic, Brazil owns Fernando de Noronha, Trindade and Martim Vaz, and the Saint Peter and Saint Paul Archipelago, while the Falkland Islands are administrating by the United Kingdom, whose sovereignty over the islands is uncertain by Argentina. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands may be linked with either South America or Antarctica.

South America is residence to the world’s highest waterfall, Angel Falls in Venezuela; the largest river (by volume), the Amazon River; the longest mountain range, the Andes (whose highest mountain is Aconcagua at 6,962 m; the driest place on earth, the Atacama Desert; the major rainforest, the Amazon Rainforest; the uppermost capital city, La Paz, Bolivia; the highest commercially passable lake in the world, Lake Titicaca; and, excluding research stations in Antarctica, the world’s southernmost permanently inhabited community, Puerto Toro, Chile.

South America Country Guides

Brazil Argentina Peru